September 25, 2023

Pocono Raceway with annual blood drive

July 7 – Pocono Raceway holds its 18th Annual “Race for the Red” Blood Drive on Tuesdays from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Long Pond course media center.

Donors will receive a dry bag from the American Red Cross, while supplies last, and an Italian Ice compliment from Rita’s in Brodheadsville. They will also be entered into a drawing for a chance to win one of two prizes for the NASCAR Cup Series race in Pocono on July 23. The grand prize is four 300-story grandstand tickets, four pit passes, and four scanner rentals. The second prize is four grandstands with 200 floors


Also from 12:00 to 19:00 the “Ride for the Red” will take place. For a donation of their choice to the American Red Cross Disaster Relief Fund, individuals can take their car for a lap of the Pocono Raceway. Donors can participate before giving blood, but you don’t have to donate blood to participate in the ride.

Scheduling an appointment to donate is recommended. Call 1-800-733-2767 or visit and use the sponsor code Pocono.

Special performances

Several tracks in the region host series in weekday shows.

Big Diamond Speedway in Minersville welcomes the Super DIRTcar Series for the Anthracite Assault 75 on Tuesday. The 75-lap Modified feature pays $7,500 to win. The map also features 602 Crate Sportsman and Roadrunners. General admission is $33, $30 for seniors, and $10 for children ages 6-11. Children 5 and under are free. Gates open at 5:30 PM, hot laps are at 7:15 PM and the race starts at 7:45 PM. Rain date is Wednesday.

On Thursday, Bloomsburg Fair Raceway will host the Short Track Super Series North Region Crate 602 Sportsman in a 25-lap game where $1,500 is paid to win. All-Pro SpeedSTRs, FWD Four-Cylinders and Slingshots are also on the schedule. The grandstands open at 6 p.m. and the race starts at 7 p.m. For more information, visit

Fast numbers

Penn Can Speedway in Susquehanna will hold its annual Fireworks Extravaganza show Friday at 7 p.m. … Hamlin Speedway gets into action on Saturday at 6 p.m. with all divisions racing, culminating in the 600 Winged and Wingless Special. … At Big Diamond Speedway in Minersville, Nick Rochinski of Dickson City finished fourth in the 40-lap Georgie Stevenson Memorial Modified feature and Bobby Trapper Jr. from Scranton placed 14th. Taylor’s Mike Loney took 24th in the 20-lap Crate 602 Sportsman feature. …In the 30-lap Modified feature at Grandview Speedway in Bechtelsville, Trapper Jr. in 10th, Eddie Strada of South Canaan was 13th and Bobby Trapper Sr. from Scranton was 20th. … At Afton Motorsports Park in New York, Carbondale’s Brett Tonkin was fourth in the 30-lap Modified feature. Brandon Loucks of Masonville, New York won the feature and leads the standings with Tonkin with 460 points. Susquehanna’s Darwin Greene finished eighth in the feature film, Old Forge’s Brian Puckett was tenth, Dingman’s Ferry’s Nick Mady was thirteenth, and Old Forge’s Brian Puckett was fourteenth. … Jordan Thomas from Harding finished 10th in the final standings of the Empire Sprint Series/CNY Speedweek with 202 points. … With three wins and three second-place finishes, Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri won the 33rd annual Pennsylvania Sprint Speedweek title by 163 points over 2022 champion Brent Marks of Myerstown. Only six of the 10 scheduled races were run. The four rain showers are the most in the history of the event. … The Short Track Super Series Modified South Region is Sunday at 6:15 p.m. at Bridgeport Motorsports Park in New Jersey for the “Doug Hoffman Memorial 60 Over Special.” The 60 round feature pays $6,060 to win. The STSS Crate 602 Sportsman will also see action in a 25-round feature, along with a 15-round four-cylinder feature.

LOCAL TRACKS June 30 – July 1 results


June 30 result

ADJUSTMENTS — Kevin Hartnett, Brad Szulewski, Rusty Smith, Alex Stanton, Nick Petrilak, Alex Tonkin, Alan Komar, Hunter Metzger, Dan Burman, Travis Brockner, Casey Plummer, Darwin Greene Sr., Brian Malcolm, Brad Schaffer, John Michael Phillips, Frank Yankowski, George Kostelansky, Doug Polhamus, Brett Tonkin, Brandon Fritsch, Brian Franko, Matt Soblechi

602 CRATE SPORTSMAN — Ray Leonard, Marty Goodwin, Mike Schane, Tommy Groover, Mike Nagel Jr., Gordon Smith, Kolyn Schane, Brad Weaver, Eddie Kudrako, Mike Wilcha, Brett Wooster, Joe Novak, Dave Dickey, Allen Kellogg, Alex Konopka , Amanda Scholtisek, Tres Palmer, Adam Mudge, Dave Rosa, Ned Fitch

600cc MODIFICATIONS — Brenton Miller, Chuck Lohmeyer, Sam Hubbard, Ali Scutt, Nate Oropallo, Ryan David Kadaronk, Tori Straway, Darwin Greene Jr., Madyson Beach, Sam Usborne, Larry Furman, John Dinniny, Jeff Baldwin, Jeffrey Martin. DNS: Roger Lewis

FACTORY STOCK — Adam Gilbert, Charlie Gilbert, Justin Slezak, Kevin Macdonald, Eric Beach, Mahlon Shoemaker, Darren Davies, Brad Chilson, Jordan Towner, Ryan Brockner, Jason Rhodes, Rich Sharpsteen, Kevin Welch, Josh Towner, Brett Spoor

FOUR CYLINDERS — Collin Mills, Adam DelGrosso, Brian Salmini, Bryant Beach, Mike Jenks, Dakota Fuller, Thomas Tomcyk, Kevin Whitman, Rob Sterling, Josh Wilder, Andy Bolles, Scott Beach, David Benson, Rich Wagner, Jeff Sterling

LIMITED SPORTSMAN — Charlie Towner, Devon Green, Joe Buchanan, Derrick Schaffer, Paul Conklin, Dave Heater, Avery Decker


July 1 result

JUNIOR HOMAGES (20 rounds): Brayden Traver; Christopher Tittle; Trevor Houghton; Logan Meers; Jacoby Thompson; Darian Danyluk; Preston Trautschold; Addisyn Roger; Rilee Ike

ALL-STAR CHAPELLEN FIRECRACKER 100 (100 laps): Dale Kober; Brett Bieber; Danny Buccafusca; Dylan Hahn; Scott Neary; Shelby McLaughlin; Taylor mills; Brian Smith; Lucas Pittenger; Brad Crandall; Griffin Hendershot; Ryan Rochelle; Devin Pierce; sophia spear; Jonathan Lauleigh; Justin house; Lydia Novarro; Andrew Turpin; Brett Putnam; Christopher Tittle; Tucker-Jones; Cole Armstrong; Garrett Chillot; David Luethe; Davis Ralph; Chris Laurig

XCEL 600 MODIFIED (20 laps): John Martinsky Sr.; Thomas Nettelschap; Jordan Tittle; Kevin McGinty; Olivia Schmeltzer; Andrew Hendriks

ROOKIE 600 SPRINTS (20 laps): Ryan Rochelle; Jace Marshall; Brad Gumble; Abel Engeler; Vincent Gueci; Baker Richie Jr.

WINGLESS 600 SPRINTS (20 laps): Jordan Tittle; Joseph J Smith; Morgan Rochelle; Connor Mirabelli; Nate freed; Kevin Nolf; Jace Marshall; teddy cane; Adam Sadlon; Evan Nolf; Shelby McLaughlin; Kaitlyn Swist; Zac Frantz; Dennis Stawinsky Jr.; Michael Nolf; Vincent Gueci; Baker Richie Jr.

STAGE ONE MODIFIED (20 laps): Colin Cox; Gavyn Krupp; Owen Kassel; Stephen Ennes; chad riddle; Ryan Raidline; Peyton Servant; Samantha Maguire; Troy Maurizzio; Jake Moyer; Matthijs Ennes; Leroy Sorenson; Joel Price; Paul Ennes; Anthony Wood

SCOTT WALSH covers motorsport for the Times-Tribune. Contact him at; 570 348-9100 ext. 5109; and follow him

@swalshTT on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *